PaperKingdoms

June 19, 2007

Actionscript – XML Menu

Filed under: internet, program — bardicknowledge @ 12:46 pm

I have read a few tutorials on this, but none of them are doing it the way I envision mine working. I plan on reading more tuts but as of now I am horribly stuck. Most noteablely I am reading the kirupa tut that explains XML menus but as I said; I picture my differently in my mind.

Anyways, here’s the problem I have encountered: I need to create multiple text fields each with their now name. I think this would work best if I have the var names in the XML file. I need to reference the names in several points so instead of making an array or two to hold the information I plan on treating the single XML as an array for the entire project.

So when I try to pull the names for the text fields out of the XML file and use it in my actionscript, it breaks. Example:

fieldName = menu_xml.childNodes[0].childNodes[i].childNodes[ii].attributes.cn;
mainMenu[clipName].createTextField(fieldname,this.getNextHighestDepth(),0,tbH,80,50,50);

That is what I want. I have tried:

this[fieldName]
eval(fieldName)

But no luck. I have no idea why this won’t work but as soon as I figure it out I will post it here on my blog. Hopefully I can solve this issue tonight since it has been bother me for a few days. I am also having some loop problems but lets take this one step at a time, eh?

1 Comment »

  1. […] A pawns history « Actionscript – XML Menu […]

    Pingback by XML/AS Menu - progress update « Paper Kingdoms — June 20, 2007 @ 11:29 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

