PaperKingdoms

August 21, 2006

Music: a personal reflection

Filed under: music, musings — bardicknowledge @ 11:11 pm

When it boils down, I find music is very personal, reflecting your out look on society and people. Though I am sure there are some out there what would probably disagree with me, thinking that the music they listen to is the best there is because it is the most artistic or the most meaningful, but they neglect the fact that we are all different. I know several people like this, all of them prog rock listeners. I’m not saying all prob rock listeners are like this, but the three I know are. They believe what they listen to is the best and anyone that doesn’t agree has no taste in music. This makes me irate since music is universal in the since that everyone is able to find something out there that stirs them and just because what I enjoy doesn’t move you doesn’t mean it’s crap or my taste are crap. It is called being human!

I  beg my friends if they read this (which is unlikely) to take the time out to think… actually I will ask everyone. Just stop and think. Music appeals to our “souls”. I can’t really use that since I’m atheist, but you know what I mean. Music appeals to our most basic emotions, playing on past events and our personality.

My girlfriend is a music major. Now, we majors in classical violin but she adores Christian rock. That is what floats her boat. For me it’s metal. I absolutely love metal. Some metal is technical, some not so much, lol, and some really heavy and fast. But just because I listen to music where the singer screams and the guitar sounds like static sometimes doesn’t mean you have the right to mock my tastes. What you are in fact doing is ignoring what makes some human and insulting our being.

If you haven’t been able to tell, disrespecting people is a pet peeves. Don’t get me wrong, I’m a bastard sometimes, but there are those that out right mock everything that makes us different from that person, and music, being the reflection of ourselves, isn’t something you can tell another person that drop and listen to the genre you like.

Metal is my drug. I was a s.o.b. full of angst as a child, but now I have mellowed out, my angst turned into the inability to accepts others intolerance. I know that kind of hypocritical but I don’t care. And I still listen to metal. But I also listen to everything else under the sun. Rap, rock, prob, pop, jrock, techno, classical, oldies, etc etc.

So that next time sometime tells you they don’t like your music, shrug it off. If they well you your taste sucks, kick them in the face and tell em to “f off”.

6 Comments »

  1. I figured this was about me as soon as I read the title.

    I didn’t realize you were so touchy about your taste in music. But just to point out, to have one’s interests/tastes mocked or criticized is part of being human. Criticizing someone’s preferences is not the same as actually attacking their person. We all criticize other people’s tastes, intentionally or not. Sometimes we even equte personal tastes we disagree with to a deficiency in intelligence, as if only stupid people would like it.

    I don’t think I ever (seriously) stated that the music I listen to was the best, I do realize that there is other good music out there, as well as room for people’s tastes. I understand prog rock is a really delicate genre, because there is a fine line between awesome and overindulgent tripe. Yes has 25 years of over indulgent tripe after they peaked that I mostly avoid. And I know you know there is a lot of terrible metal out there.

    Every genre has few really good bands/albums, alot of okay stuff and a few painfully terrible. I mean I have musical tastes in certain genres (psychedelic and its derivatives, which includes metal) that dictate what I listen to, but I usally find what’s considered to be the good albums to be the most enjoyable.

    Basically what I consider a person who has “taste in music” is that they listen to a broad range of genres, rather than just stick to one. Most people tend to fall into this category.

    My final point is that there is such a thing as good music and bad music, just as there are good movies and bad movies. Personal taste only dictates what music you enjoy and the act of liking something does not make it good or bad. No genre has a monopoly on good or bad music either.

    And at least we can agree objectively that the Beatles simply are the greatest band ever. And be thankful that we’re not indie snobs.

    Comment by jetfx — August 22, 2006 @ 3:06 pm

  2. This all spawned from the one comment you made tell me to get a real taste in music. I thought that was low of you my friend. And this is my rant in response to it ^_^ I also have heard too much crap from ppl (my parents and online) saying what I listen to is garbage or noise. Or even metal heads look down on me because I listen to a wide variety of music.

    I’m not trying to say its wrong to criticized people, it just when many do, they don’t realize that it much more than just their music or style of clothing or whatever.  This things are reflections of ourselves and I am just trying to bring some enlightenment to those that ignore the fact that despite differences, still think things should be done in a certain way or have to be a certain thing to be considered correct or intelligent.

    And I was bored after talking to Katelyn. We were talking about classical violin and this got me thinking about it.
    Also do people actually read my blog… I have over 1k views (thanks digg/reddit lol) but no one has commented 😦

    Comment by bardicknowledge — August 22, 2006 @ 3:23 pm

  3. I said that? Whoops. I don’t think I meant it too seriously since I do consider you to have a taste in music even though I don’t like a number of the bands you listen to. Your musical tastes are varied enough.

    At first I thought that was someone else calling you a hypocrite for the rant, until I realized that was you. What’s with the name? Seems uncharacteristic.

    Good job on the views. You’re way ahead of me.

    Comment by jetfx — August 22, 2006 @ 9:25 pm

  4. Its my gmail account name. And I have been using it ever since I was playing D&DO. I find the ring of it more appealing.

    BTW when are you moving up? I am getting bored. Plus Katelyn is going back to school soon.

    Comment by bardicknowledge — August 22, 2006 @ 10:16 pm

  5. I’ll be in Halifax on September 1st, which is when I move it. I’ll be busy unpacking so I probably won’t be up for doing something until the 2nd.

    Comment by jetfx — August 23, 2006 @ 4:10 pm

  6. good. you should create a test account to see how you like it with these guys. I rather enjoy the services. Much better than blogger or vox. My only wish would be for communities.

    Comment by bardicknowledge — August 23, 2006 @ 4:58 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

