PaperKingdoms

August 17, 2006

Halifax String Quartet

Filed under: music, musings — bardicknowledge @ 7:04 pm

If you are looking for the site to the actual Halifax String Quartet, click here 

So last night Katelyn and I went to see the Halifax String Quartet play in the Music Room, a very small auditorium about a 5 minute walk from my apartment. It was absolutely amazing! There were about 30 people if that at the concert. We were all seating about five feet from the two violinist’s, violist, and cellist. It was the first time I have seen classical music performed live and my god, do I ever want to see it again. You could feel the music inside your chest. It was hypnotic.During the intermission I turned to Katelyn to tell her I was on the verge of surrendering my uncouth ways and metal listening to become more civilized then it occurred to me how much I despise intellectuals.

So instead I will continue with my metal ways but also seek out more classical performances across the city. If you ever have the chance to see a string quartet, take it! The cello! Oh my it was great. I was in absolute love with the cello. The deep bas reverberating through my chest and mind, driving such emotions home! Oh!

My favorite pieces had to have been those written by Corelli and Dvorak. To simply put it, wow. I have been able to land some Dvorak discs, but still no luck with Corelli. If anyone knows where I could find some I would be greatly appreciative.

1 Comment »

  1. Undeniably believe that which you said. Your favorite reason appeared to be on the web the easiest thing to be aware of. I say to you, I definitely get irked while people think about worries that they just do not know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top as well as defined out the whole thing without having side effect , people could take a signal. Will probably be back to get more. Thanks

    Comment by Stop A Panic Attack Without Medication — September 3, 2011 @ 4:20 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

